Math Education Concepts

Inspiring Motivating Empowering

Own Your Education

2 Comments

When I woke up this morning the last memory I had was of a dream that occurred only minutes, maybe seconds earlier.  I was standing in an elevator in a school district administration building.  The elevator was crowded and to my left stood a mother and her teenage (or pre-teen) daughter.  They were having a conversation and quite naturally, I was listening.  The conversation had something to do with the girl selecting a high school for the coming year.  She didn’t want to participate fully in the selection process.  Like so many young people today, she wanted her mother to make the decision for her.  Well that conversation got my blood boiling, but in a good way… I think.  This is what happened next (I’m paraphrasing, but you’ll get the point)…

I turned to the young lady and told her that she should go and get involved in the selection process.  I told her to go to the schools, tour the classrooms, and get a feel for the environment.  I reminded her that she should select the place that would feel conducive to learning for her!  Finally, I said “you will be here for eight hours each day, not your mother, you will have to sit in these classes all day, not your mother, and you will have to eat the food, not your mother!  Own your education!”  By that, I meant that she should take control of her education by making those important decisions that would impact her education journey.

Then I woke up.  It was one of those dreams that felt real, like I was on that elevator and speaking with that family.  The truth is that is exactly what I would tell young people today, “own your education.”  This is the one thing we have some control over, the one decision many parents allow children to weigh in on.  The one decision that could determine their future career, lifestyle, path!  Granted, young people do need some guidance and direction, but should have some autonomy when it comes to deciding where they will attend high school.

Author: Math Education Concepts

I am a Co-founder of and Program Coordinator for Math Corps Philadelphia, a combined academic enrichment and mentoring program. I am the author of "Teacher Training Manual: Designed for Secondary Mathematics Teachers of African American Urban Students." I hold a Master of Education degree in Secondary Mathematics and have several years of experience teaching secondary and post-secondary mathematics.

2 thoughts on “Own Your Education

What do you think?

