Math Education Concepts

Inspiring Motivating Empowering

Thinking Mathematically

3 Comments

When you are passionate about something, you tend to relate almost everything else to that “thing.”  For me, that “thing” is math.  I relate almost everything in my life to math.  Whether it’s my hair (curl pattern, texture, etc.), my dishes (the way they are stacked in my cabinets), the highway (the number of car spaces between my car and the car in front of me), or even the shadow on my dining room wall (it’s a reflection of my light fixture and it’s shaped like a sine curve reflected across the x-axis).

I think mathematically… I count the number of steps it takes to get to the bottom of the stairs, I count the number of tile squares it takes to create the pattern on my bathroom floor, I count the nails in the walls, and I count the number of holes there are in the design of my laundry basket.

So, do I think mathematically because I happen to enjoy math or do I enjoy math because I think mathematically?  Either way, I am passionate about mathematics and mathematical concepts and ideas.  And as much as I try to hide behind my desk (and avoid teaching), I still get excited when having conversations about all things math!  Thanks for the brief conversation S. from NC!

Author: Math Education Concepts

I am a Co-founder of and Program Coordinator for Math Corps Philadelphia, a combined academic enrichment and mentoring program. I am the author of "Teacher Training Manual: Designed for Secondary Mathematics Teachers of African American Urban Students." I hold a Master of Education degree in Secondary Mathematics and have several years of experience teaching secondary and post-secondary mathematics.

3 thoughts on “Thinking Mathematically

  1. Minor typo: *number of holes.

    Like

What do you think?

