Math Education Concepts

Inspiring Motivating Empowering

Reflections of 2012

2 Comments

2012This year I taught a summer course for the first time, I sent my son off to college for his first year, I launched a math and science tutoring business, I contributed to (co-authored) a good will book, I held 3 jobs concurrently throughout the year, I helped develop an idea for an educational application, and I started this blog site.  Each accomplishment brought with it joys and pains: joys of doing something meaningful; pains of letting go of something or someone.

Every experience in life gives us the opportunity to reflect, learn, and grow.  This year my reflections are short, but sweet.

  1. Students are our teachers
  2. Build their confidence and they will come
  3. Starting, running, and owning a successful business requires a lot of work
  4. I will be a better teacher next year
  5. Listen and you will learn
  6. College level math is difficult/challenging for a lot of students
  7. It is a compliment when students return and ask for recommendations
  8. Parents want to help, but sometimes they need to know how
  9. If you believe in it, others will
  10. Make them as excited about your idea as you are
  11. Love makes life easier
  12. In giving, we receive
  13. Red is my color this year
  14. Give your customers what they need and they will return
  15. A business partnership is a “marriage”
  16. Positive thinking yields positive results
  17. Determined students are resilient
  18. Peace is paramount
  19. It is easier to give up than it is to keep trying
  20. I am Blessed

2012 was filled with struggle, accomplishment, surprise, fulfillment, wonderment, and everything in between.  It was a great year and an introduction to things to come in 2013.

2013I wish you all a fantastic conclusion to 2012 and an astounding 2013!

Author: Math Education Concepts

I am a Co-founder of and Program Coordinator for Math Corps Philadelphia, a combined academic enrichment and mentoring program. I am the author of "Teacher Training Manual: Designed for Secondary Mathematics Teachers of African American Urban Students." I hold a Master of Education degree in Secondary Mathematics and have several years of experience teaching secondary and post-secondary mathematics.

2 thoughts on “Reflections of 2012

  1. Your notes to self are a mantra and a calendar to replace the defeated Mayans.

    Like

What do you think?

