Math Education Concepts

Inspiring Motivating Empowering

8K

2 Comments

I was at the Rothman Institute’s 8K race in Philadelphia this morning.  It was very exciting and invigorating.  No, I didn’t race, I’m not a runner.  I was there to support important people in my life.  One of which is my business partner, Chalon Downs, co-founder of Citywide Math and Science Institute.  I am very proud of her, and all the runners!  They accomplished something great!

Hats off to an amazing group of people, including Black Girls Run, the largest group present!  Yes, I was listening and watching.  They ran!!!

How does this relate to math?  In countless ways.  To name a few: the number of participants, the timing of the runners, the number of miles in 8K (4.97 miles), and so on.  This was definitely a teachable moment.

Related articles

Author: Math Education Concepts

I am a Co-founder of and Program Coordinator for Math Corps Philadelphia, a combined academic enrichment and mentoring program. I am the author of "Teacher Training Manual: Designed for Secondary Mathematics Teachers of African American Urban Students." I hold a Master of Education degree in Secondary Mathematics and have several years of experience teaching secondary and post-secondary mathematics.

2 thoughts on “8K

  1. Hey, daughter, wow, I didn’t know, Chalon Runs.

    Like

What do you think?

