Math Education Concepts

Inspiring Motivating Empowering

Complacency, or not

6 Comments

As educators, we should not become complacent in our respective fields.  Many teachers only participate in required professional development activities, but refuse to go above and beyond unless additional pay is involved.  Is this acceptable?  Shouldn’t we continue to grow and learn as we expect of our students?  Or is this asking too much?

 How do you stay current in your field?

 How do you meet the changing needs of your students?

 Do you continue to teach the same way you’ve always taught?  If so, why?

Author: Math Education Concepts

I am a Co-founder of and Program Coordinator for Math Corps Philadelphia, a combined academic enrichment and mentoring program. I am the author of "Teacher Training Manual: Designed for Secondary Mathematics Teachers of African American Urban Students." I hold a Master of Education degree in Secondary Mathematics and have several years of experience teaching secondary and post-secondary mathematics.

6 thoughts on “Complacency, or not

  1. I love the way you make math fun and interesting!

    Like

  2. I have always been an ‘alternative’ educator, even on the Intensive Writing Faculty of UNC-Charlotte and 2009 visiting Writer at Salem College. Or let’s go way back to 1973 for Reading and Grammar at TCYC in Philly, 23 and Tioga an official Alt School among those that kicked off the national alternative ed movement.

    Thus, I have always had the luxury devising my own curriculum, which had to include the standard approved learning stuff … plus … my thesis approach to the curriculum as well. In short, I had to be a Teacher, vs. an Instructor. For me a teacher not only instructs the rudiments and tenents, but, also, must have a life experience approach to subject matter that gives the student an applicable learning experience. I remember Ms, Bonner, Sister Anastasia, Professor Butler for that reason and site them as my mentors as well as teachers.

    Yes, a teacher must be a mentor and a mentor brings their life experience and thesis approach to curricula. Teacher + Mentor = Passion. And if the teacher is not passionate then what does the student learn that they will retain + apply = succeed/life

    Like

  3. I just found you blog today. I am looking forward to exploring. You can follow my blog at mathonthemckenzie.blogspot.com

    Like

What do you think?

